Zoe Hollins (Milford) was installed as President at our AGM on 18th November 2014, together with Sandra Tracey (Sutton) as SVP  One new Life Member was appointed, Bobbie Pothecary (West Byfleet) retiring Hon Secretary.  New Hon County Secretary Sheron Mitchell (Croydon) was appointed.


We are delighted to say we have a new Junior Vice President.  Shan Maylin (proposed by her club Southey and seconded by Supreme) has been accepted by the Executive and installed at the AGM. 


Jacqui Poat of Woking Park will take over the Officers Cup from Jenniifer Asten


Congratulations to WIMBLEDON PARK who came joint third in the Bowls England Club of the Year 2014 awarded annually to the club that is judged to have shown the greatest efforts to promote the club, increase membership and work with the local community. (Since 2012 their ladies membership has virtually trebled) As Regional Winners Wimbledon Park receive 2 sets of bowls, £50 cash as well as a BE Pennant and framed certificate.


At our annual dinner and presentation of prizes on Friday 24th October, a surprise visitor was Mr Michael Jennings, the Bowls England Junior Vice President.  Mr Jennings said he had always got on so well with Surrey ladies at Leamington during the National Championships, that he was delighted to come to present the Bowls England Certificate of Merit to our Treasurer, Jackie Taylor.  The certificate of merit is presented to individuals who are deemed to have provided outstanding service to the sport at club and county level.  Jackie has been our treasurer for 22 years.  She has not confined her activities to looking after our money but has run other events such as the county tour and all this entails.  Her large car was bought to enable her to transport officers and uniform all over the county to games. She recently visited all indoor clubs to deliver the new county shirts in addition to all outdoor matches to ensure all county players were equipped – a thankless task.  Even though she is suffering from ill health, Jackie organised the Dinner and Presentation from her hospital bed.  Jackie received a standing ovation and truly deserved her award.




It is with sadness that we report that Mike Haigh (President of SCBA in 2002) has died.  


The family have requested no flowers however any donations should  be made for  Cancer Research through W.A. Truelove  14/18 Church Road, Epsom, Surrey KT17 4A



CONGRATULATIONS to Liz Anderson, Shan Maylin and Debbie Souter of SOUTHEY who WON the Benevolent Triples in Surrey and who were placed FIRST Nationally


ALSO CONGRATULATIONS to Pat Bourne (PURLEY BURY) who has been chosen for the 2015 Womens Senior International at Leamington 14th to 16th June 2015. Also to Debbie Sarratt (EGHAM) who is a Non-Travelling Reserve.




Congratulations to EGHAM who have won the TOP CLUB at Leamington by beating Saffron Ladies of Sussex 2-2 (84-57) in the Final 


They played Kings BC of Devon and WON 2-2 (90-69) in the Quarter Finals and in the semi finals they WON 2-2 (93-69) against Broadway of Worcestershire.


They are the first Surrey Club to win the TOP CLUB since its inception in 1996.


(Sadly Camberley men lost in their Top Club semi-finals)



Congratulations to Zone 4 who are winners of the Inter-Zone Phyl Hill Trophy



Our AMY ROSE girls Won against KENT 43-22 and in the final at Leamington Lost 21-47 - well done for being National Runners Up






In the JOHNS TROPHY the morning Semi Final game against Northamptonshire our ladies won 119-115. The Final against Devonshire was twice interrupted by Thunder and Lightening and heavy rain but eventually we won 129-110.


In the WALKER CUP the Semi Final game against Bedfordshire our ladies won 42-39 and in the afternoon in the Final against Nottinghamshire we won 38-36.


WELL DONE LADIES it is the first time since 1998 that a County has won both JOHNS and WALKER CUP. (SURREY did it that year as well)




Click Here for the minutes of the last Council Meeting held in April 2014.


NB since the April meeting the Executive have decided not to continue with the rezoning but to create a subcommittee under the chairmanship of Pam Garden (Match Secretary) to include Competition and Zone Secretaries who will reevaluate the possible options.







27th JULY - Under 31's PALM TROPHY was won by Rachel Winter of EGHAM



Ember BC, Surrey Ladies, Guests at Presidents Day

I would like to express my heartfelt thank you to everyone concerned for making my Presidents Day a very happy and memorable occasion for me.

I would also like to thank my club Ember for their generosity and the continued support they have shown me throughout this year – they did ‘a good job’!

The fun games were organized by Ann Rapley, Jean Hewett and Jenny Baird- and they seem to provide lots of fun and laughter. For those guests who did not play it was a good opportunity to catch up with ‘old friends’.

The day ended with a meal at the ‘Cobham Curve’ and I thank my friend Jan Smith for doing the wonderful flower arrangements.

Thank you for all for your cards and good wishes and your generous donations to Anthony Nolan.


Warm wishes from 

Maxine Glazebrook President




Our National Fours Winners from MILFORD shown with Tony Allcock MBE (Chief Executive of Bowls England).  Sheila Seddon, Zoë Hollins, Gill Platt and Carolyne Stevens represented England in the Fours in the British Isles Championships in Jersey on June 13th 2014. Sadly they lost in their preliminary round 16-17 to Scotland having lost a 2 on the very last end.






Congratulations to Kylie Hampton (KNAPHILL) and Pat Bourne (PURLEY BURY) who were selected for the BIWBC England International Team for the 2014 International Series June 15th to 17th in Jersey. England won the series.


Well done to Rachel Winter and Kelly McCarthy both from Egham who were selected to take part in the Under 25s Trial at Leamington Spa on May 26th. Sadly neither of our young people were selected but well done to them for getting as far as having a trial.


Congratulations to Rachel Winter (formerly of Wimbledon Park Bowls Club now of Egham) who recently won Merton's Sporting Achievement Award in recognition of her bowling achievements




The funeral service of David Pickering was held on Friday 6th June at St Peters Church, Slinfold, West Sussex at Midday with a Service of Thanksgiving at Worthing Crematorium at 2:20pm followed by afternoon tea at Findon Manor.


No flowers but donations, if you wish, to Action for Pulmonary Fibrosis c/o James and Thomas Funeral Directors, 24 Station Parade, Ockham Road South, East Horsley, Surrey ST24 6QN





Maxine Glazebrook (Ember) was installed as President at our AGM on 19th November 2013, together with Zoe Hollins (Milford) as SVP  One new Life Member was appointed, Doreen Prior (Croydon) retiring Zones 1 & 2 Competitions Secretary.  New Zones 1 & 2 Competition Secretary Jean Hewett was appointed.



We are delighted to say we have a new Junior Vice President.  Sandra Tracey (Sutton) has been proposed and seconded and accepted by the Executive.  Sandra is currently our Benevolent Secretary and Treasurer and this position will be taken over by Jill Huggett (Reigate Priory).



Mrs Marjorie Bennett M.B.E. (Priory Park) died early on Sunday December 29th.  Marjorie was 93 and was awarded an MBE in 2007 for services to bowls. 

Her funeral was held on Thursday 23rd January 2014 at Mortlake Crematorium, Kew Meadow Path, Town Mead Road, Richmond TW9 4EN afterwards at Mid-Surrey Golf Club